A Love Letter to Filipinos in the U.S.

February 14, 2012

Dearest Filipino,

I love you with all my heart and soul!

I have always admired you and felt inspired by your many wonderful talents; your voice so beautiful it gains the most votes in American Idol; your fantastic ability to move to the rhythm of the music you shine to the top of America’s Best Dance Crew, your intellect so smart you invented the karaoke sing along system.

But what I love about you the most is your courage to face the hardships and challenges of our people because our love is born in the hope and struggle for a better future.

I adore that you have critical thoughts about what is going on in the Philippines and I think it’s so sexy that you won’t accept the corruption of the Philippine government. You inspire me most by your commitment to not only talk about the problems but to do something to resolve them.

Darling, I affirm my love and commitment to you and I promise that I will stand by you and continue to fight for you to protect you no matter where you are.  When you were in the U.S. and the authorities threatened to deport you, we organized together, we gathered thousands to stand beside you, and together we succeeded in giving you the choice to stay.

But even after this one success you impressed me so much because you knew our relationship had higher mountains to climb.  You knew that the true fruit of our love was to not only keep you in the U.S. but to one day raise a child who could grow up in a vibrant homeland where all our children wouldn’t have to make the difficult decision to migrate in order to survive.

I know you are the one for me my sweet because our love inspires me to action, motivates me to make a change, and gives me the hope that we can make a difference in the lives of many. You and I together remind me of a famous saying that someone once said, “Justice is what love looks like in public!”

Happy Valentine’s day, mahal!

Mahal kita sa aking puso!

NAFCON

About lylestyles

N00B!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

